
 

  

Have you made a trip to 
www.omhc.ohio.gov 
lately? On our website 
you will find forms you 
may need to submit to 
our office for various 
purposes, applications 
to renew various licens-
es, agencies to call for 
permits in your area, 
information about the 
Commission and more 
importantly you will find 
the chapter of the Ohio 
Revised Code that is 
regulated by our office.  
If you haven’t visited 
our website lately, check 
us out today!  
  
If you have any sugges-
tions or comments 
about items you would 
like to see on the web-
site, please contact our 
office.  
  
 

We are here 
 to help! 

  

PHONE NUMBER 

614-734-6010 

 
Ohio Manufactured Homes Commission 
5100 Parkcenter Ave Suite 103 
Dublin OH 43017 

Communication is the key to success in many factors and one sure way to 
make sure you are staying up on all the latest information and important  news 
is to verify we have your correct contact information.  
  
Periodically the Commission will send out important notices, law or rule 
change information, and other various bulletins. These communications are 
sent primarily by email. It is important to keep your email address updated with 
us.  
  
License renewals and annual community inspections are sent out through US 
mail. If your mailing address changes notify our office as soon as possible. Not 
receiving notices of your license expiring or the report on your community in-
spection is not justification to not correct these matters. If your license is expir-
ing within 30 days and you have not received a notice or reminder from our 
office likely means that we do not have your current mailing address.  
  
Annual community inspections are mailed to the mailing address listed on the 
license renewal application submitted each year. If you need the report sent to 
a different location, you must specify that to our office.  
  
Don’t miss any further updates! Call us today if you have made any recent 
changes in your information!  

======================================================================= 

** Page 2 & 3 of this quarter’s newsletter is a repeat of a previous newsletter as there are still  

questions and concerns in regards to annual community inspections.** 
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Below is a list of the most common 

violations found in communities 

throughout the state regardless  

of age, size or location.  

 

 Lot numbers not visible on 

the home. Every site must be 

identified using 4in letters or 

larger. They must be easily  

readable from the street. 

 Rules , Emergency Number 

and License not displayed in 

a conspicuous place. Every 

community must have written 

rules and those rules must be 

posted where they can be    

accessed at any time, such as a 

mailbox area or common area. 

Along with those rules you must 

post an emergency contact  

number and a copy of your  

community license. 

 One Year Leases. Every   

resident MUST be offered a 

written minimum one year lease. 

A signed statement showing the 

resident was offered the lease 

and declined it must be in the file 

if there is not a written lease. If a 

resident chooses to sign a lease, 

you must continue to offer to 

renew the lease at least 30 days 

prior to the expiration of the 

current lease.  

 Street Conditions.  Streets 

must be in good repair and  

potholes must be corrected as 

needed. After very harsh winters 

like this past one, potholes are 

inevitable. However, they must 

be properly repaired in a timely 

fashion.  

 

When the OMHC became the 
regulatory agent for communi-
ties in the State of Ohio that 
brought the duty of annual   
inspections to our agency as 
well. The local health districts 
were given the first right of   
refusal to conduct those       
inspections on our behalf  and 
most of the health districts came 
on board. So for many of you, 
you will continue to see the 
same inspectors from the health 
department as you have in 
years past. The difference is, 
the health department inspec-
tors are only conducting the 
annual inspection. For those 
counties where the local health 
district chose not to participate 
in the program, certified inspec-
tors through our agency conduct 
those inspections. Once the 
inspection is complete, the  
community and the Commission 
will receive a copy of the report 
and the Commission will handle 
all follow up of violations.  
 
In year’s past, follow up of   
annual inspections were done 
differently throughout the state. 
Some health departments    
required re-inspections, some 
required contact from the owner 
in regards to corrections and 
some merely rechecked the 
violations at the next year’s  
inspection. Our agency wants to 
make sure all violations found 
during annual inspections are 
addressed appropriately and in 
a timely fashion.  
 
Please read the following infor-
mation on annual inspections 
and how they are handled. 
Make sure you are aware of  

what is expected of you and if 
you have any questions, please 
give us a call. Do not make your 
first contact with our staff be in 
person when an investigator 
shows up in your community 
because you failed to respond 
to your inspection... 
 
Step 1 
The annual inspection is      
conducted and the report is sent 
to our office as well as to the 
owner the community at the 
address listed on the license 
application. The reports are sent 
via mail so it is imperative that 
you have the   
correct mailing 
address on your 
license renewal 
application and if 
there are any 
changes to your 
mailing address, it 
is important to 
notify our office! 
 
Step 2 
Once you receive your inspec-
tion report, the clock starts. You 
will have 30 days to correct any 
violations noted on the report. If 
there are life safety issues 
(items that pose an immediate 
threat of harm to residents, their 
guest or community staff) these 
items must be taken care of 
immediately. If you need more 
than 30 days to properly correct 
a violation, notify our office as 
soon as possible. Communica-
tion is the key.  
 
Step 3 
You must provide our office 
proof of corrected violations 
within that 30 day time period.  
 

You may send in photographic 
evidence showing the violation 
has been corrected or copies of 
receipts showing the repairs 
have been made. For example, 
if you have house numbers that 
are missing, once you replace 
the house numbers, take a  
picture of the numbers on the 
home and send those pictures 
to our office. You may mail the 
pictures regular mail to our  
address or you may email the 
pictures to communityinspec-
tions@omhc.state.oh.us. 
When sending in violation    
corrections to our office, make 

sure you have them 
marked as to who they 
belong to. It is often that 
we receive pictures but 
nothing else notifying us 
where or who they 
came from and for what 
community they are for. 
We have over 1600 
communities in the state 
of Ohio so to receive 

proper credit for the violation 
corrections be sure to list at 
minimum the community name 
and the county in which the 
community is located.         
Manager’s name, community 
address and phone number is 
always appreciated as well.  
 
Once you complete Step 3 and 
done so in a timely fashion you 
are good until the next year’s 
inspection rolls around. 
 
If you fail to complete Step 3, 
the following explains what  
happens next…. 
 
 

“Be proactive.  

Conduct your own 

inspections 

monthly!”  



 

 Tight Fitting Lids on 

Trashcans. All trash must be 

placed in trash cans with tight 

fitting lids. Trash bags can not be 

placed outside on porches, 

decks or on sites without being 

placed inside a receptacle.  

 Animals running at large. 

Domestic animals must be on a 

leash at all times when outside. 

We are very aware of the stray 

cat problem and do not expect 

community owners to be free of 

stray cats but what we do expect 

is that measures are taken to try 

to reduce the number of stray 

cats. For example, trash needs 

to be  secured in receptacles 

with tight fitting lids. Also, do not 

allow residents to feed stray cats. 

There is always that person who 

feels if they do not feed them, 

they will starve. But in reality, 

they will not. The cats will move 

on to the next food source. As a 

community owner, it is your  

responsibility to make sure   

residents are not aiding in the 

stray cat population by engaging 

in acts that harbor stray cats. 

Education is key.  

 

Stray cats are always a hot topic 

among community owners. If 

anyone has any success stories 

on how to manage the stray cats 

in their area humanely please 

share those stories with us! We 

will spread the word out to the 

public.   

Question about a violation written on the 

inspection report?  

 

Sometimes a violation on a report is not clear or 

you may need more information before you can 

properly address the violation. If this occurs or 

any other problems or concerns about the     

inspection report arises, contact our office, not 

the inspection agency that conducted the      

inspection. Remember that the inspection     

agency  conducting the inspection is doing  

 

so on our behalf. All inspections are done at our          

instructions and standards. The agency that          

performed the inspection will not be out to   

conduct a re-inspect or follow up on any     

matters unless instructed to do so by the    

Commission. Again, that is handled by our 

office and all questions and contact need to be 

made through the Commission only.  

Swimming Pools and other facilities are still regulated by the local health districts. The key to knowing who  
inspects what is who do you pay your licensing fee to, that is who inspects and regulates that function.  

If we have not received your violation corrections within the 30 day time period, you will receive a notice from 
us notifying you that those corrections were not received and that your inspection has been forwarded to the 
investigator for your county for further action. Again, communication is key to this process. If you can not   
complete the corrections within 30 days, please call our office before the deadline and we can work something 
out with you. Our job is to make sure the communities in the State of Ohio are maintained in a clean safe  
manner. That is the ultimate goal and we will work with any community owner who has that same goal.     
Community appearance and safety is one of the many items a community owner is dealing with and we are 
very understanding of that. We appreciate all the work that goes into owning and operating a community and 
we are not here to make any aspects of that more difficult. We want manufactured home communities in the 
State of Ohio to be an affordable attractive place to live. No matter the size, location or age of a community, it 
can be clean and a good place for a family to call home. We are here to help make that happen.  
 
One of the items that are being monitored on inspection reports are vacant sites. Each report will list the    
vacant sites by lot numbers. It is very important to double check this information when you receive your report. 
Frequently, wrong site numbers are listed as vacant due to vacant sites not being marked and inspectors   
having to guess what the site number is. If there is any incorrect information on vacant site numbers, report 
that information to our office as soon as possible. This information is compared to the inventory list you      
supplied to us previously vs home placement forms sent to our office.  

Are you aware of the Home Placement Form and when it is required to send it to our office? 
 
A home placement form is to be filled out every time anything on a site changes. For example, a home is 
placed on a site, a home is removed from a site, a shed is placed, replaced or removed, a deck is built,   
replaced or removed etc. Each time a change is made to a site of that nature, the park operator is required to 
fill out the Home Placement Form and send to our office within two days of the changes being made. You 
can find this form on our website at www.omhc.ohio.gov under Forms / Park Owner Operator. These forms 
may be sent to our office via fax, email or regular mail. If you have any questions in regards to Home     
Placement / Removal forms please contact our office.  
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Through recent talks with  

licensees, it was discovered 

there are a few myths out there 

in regards to  what a Dealer’s  

License allows you to do versus 

what being SAFE Act compliant 

means. 

 

If you sell more then 5 homes in 

a 12 month period, you are  

required to obtain a Dealer’s 

License. There are  

requirements that you must 

meet in order to  obtain a  

dealer’s license and once that is  

complete and you are issued a 

license you will need to renew 

that license every 2 years.  

 

If you are selling homes regard-

less of how many or how few, 

you may need to be licensed 

through the Department of 

Commerce.  

 

Having a dealer’s license has 

zero impact on being SAFE Act 

compliant and being required to 

be licensed through the Depart-

ment of Commerce has zero 

impact on whether or not you 

need a dealer’s license.    

 

If you have any questions  

regarding SAFE Act you need to 

contact the Department of  

Commerce, Financial Division at  

614-728-8400 or speak to your 

legal counsel.  

In 2008, the Federal Government enacted the Secure And Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act, 
also known as the SAFE Act.  The impact that has on our industry is far reaching.  
 
This is not a voluntary program. If you are selling or brokering manufactured homes and closing those deals 
by any methods other then cash, there is a good chance you fall into the need to be licensed to do so 
through the Department of Commerce in order to be compliant with SAFE Act. Whether you are  
self-financing home loans or simply sending your customers to other financial institutions such as Triad or 
21st Mortgage, there are very strict laws on what you are allowed and not allowed to do. If you are found  
conducting business that requires a license to do so and you are not in compliance with that license, you 
may be fined up to one thousand dollars, for each day a violation of a law or rule is 
committed, repeated, or continued. 
 
If you are conducting business that holds even a small chance of being regulated by 
the Department of Commerce, ACT TODAY! Speak to your legal counsel or contact 
the Department of Commerce for more information. You may also visit 
www.ffiec.gov/safeact or www.com.ohio.gov/fiin for more information.  
 
The Department of Commerce is most concerned with compliance. They want to 
help businesses become compliant, not prosecute businesses for being  
non-compliant. They are there to help you along the way and make sure you get the 
correct information. Don’t hesitate to call them in fear of punishment! They can be 
your biggest ally in the process.  
 

“If you are selling a 

home that is being 

financed, you 

need to be aware 

of SAFE Act  

regulations” 

Salesperson Renewal Information 
 

  
 ALL Salesperson Licenses expires on June 30, 2015. Regardless of issue date.   
 The cost to renew a license is $150.00. 
 If the renewal application is postmarked after June 30, 2015 there is a $75 late 

fee. 
 You must be employed by a licensed dealer to have a valid Salesperson License. 
 If you leave your current employer and chose to come back before the expiration 

date of your license, you may have your license reinstated for a cost of $25. 
 If you leave your current employer and transfer to a different licensed dealer, you 

may transfer your Salesperson License for $25. 
 If you misplace your current license, you may have a duplicate license sent to you 

for a cost of $25. 
 An individual who is employed by a manufactured housing dealer or broker to sell, 

display, and offer for sale, or deal in manufactured homes for a commission, com-
pensation, or other valuable consideration must obtain a Salesperson License.  

  

Page 4 



 

The condition of your curb appeal will 

help a person decide more then  

anything if they are going to stop and 

take a look at your homes or if they 

are going to continue to drive on by. 

Paying attention to the small details 

can really add up to revenue for your 

Dealership. 

 

 Is your location nicely land-

scaped? Do you have weeds 

growing up in the cracks in the 

sidewalks or in other cement 

areas? Do you have trash laying 

around on the ground? Do you 

have color in your landscape?  

 Is your office building main-

tained? Are the steps in good 

condition, painted nicely with 

adequate hand rails? Do you 

have your office landscaped? 

Does it smell clean and fresh? Is 

the front door to your office   

welcoming? Do you have a  

welcome sign displayed on your 

door? Do you have office hours 

posted and a number for     

someone to call if they arrive and 

no one is in the office?  

 Are the homes staged properly 

on the outside? Do you have 

some type of skirting around the 

homes? Whether it is block  

arranged in an  appealing pattern 

or lattice etc. Is there adequate 

steps with handrails on each 

model? Is the storm door proper-

ly latched and not flopping in the 

wind? 

Have you been visited by a test buyer? 

Fair housing, the Department of Commerce, or 

your local competitor are just a few groups out 

there that have been conducting more and more 

visits to dealer locations and community offices. 

They are using these visits for various reasons 

but the one you need to be most concerned with 

is fair housing or civil rights violations. Make sure 

you are treating every customer equally and 

fairly. It is a common practice to sort of “size up” 

the potential buyer in front of you. Be careful.! 

Do not let a preconceived notion about 

the person in front of you change how  

you may treat them or what you may say 

or offer to them. If you offer coffee to one 

customer, make sure you offer coffee to 

all customers. Key phrase, what you do 

for one you must do for all. Even the  

simplest gesture of not offering coffee to 

one couple but offering it to another could 

get you in hot water with the Civil Rights 

Commission.  

“Staging” a home is one of the best ways to show off the size and features of a home.  

If today’s manufactured homes are properly set and staged, they can pretty much sell themselves. The afford-
ability and the amenities for the price that come with today’s homes can not be matched by any other style of 
housing offered today. The construction, durability, safety and appeal are done to the level of traditional stick 
built homes but in a controlled facility not exposed to the weather and other outside factors.  
 
Staging a home can be as simple as setting up a basic living room and kitchen to staging the entire home. 
Consider the asking price of the home when deciding how much staging will be done. Whether you decide to 
stage a few rooms or the entire home, pay attention to the small details. Do you have curtains on the windows. 
Are there pictures hanging on the walls? Is the floors swept regularly? Is there dust on end tables and coffee 
tables? Are there fingerprints on glass and stainless steel?  
 
Perform routine walk throughs of your models so that when you show up at the door with a customer you are 
not surprised at what you may find.  
 
Be ready to offer the furniture used for staging for sale as well. Some customers may have a bigger piece of 
furniture or a smaller piece that would not like as nice as the piece of furniture you placed in the home. Letting 
the customer know they can take that piece of furniture with them sometimes closes that final doubt they may 
be holding onto.  

Do you utilize informational packets on the home? 
 
Today’s consumer has a wealth of knowledge at their fingertips. With the internet and social media, some of 
the information they may be obtaining is not accurate information. Reduce the risk of bad information causing 
you to lose a deal by making sure good information is available to them.  
 
Have brochures available inside the models that discuss R value of the home, the controlled environment the 
home was built in, today’s regulations to ensure the home is installed correctly and safely, the warranty avail-
able on the home, and other choices they may have in upgrading the home.  
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KNOW WHEN 
YOUR LICENSE 

EXPIRES 

Don’t get caught installing homes on an expired license! It is 
up to you to know when your license will be expiring and if you 
have the required continuing education credits completed prior 
to that date. There are three classes offered each year. Space 
is limited so don’t wait until the last one to get signed up.  
Our agency will send out a reminder about 60 days prior to 
expiration of your license. However if we do not have current 
contact information you may not receive the notification. If you 
have not received information from us, it is up to you to obtain 
the necessary paperwork to renew. You will find the renewal 
application on our website under the Forms link. 
We must receive the completed and signed application, the 
renewal fee and proof of continuing education in order to pro-
cess your renewal. If you have any questions, please contact 
our licensing department today.  

We need your help!!  
The Commission wants to make sure you are receiving the news and information that is most important and 
valuable to you and your job out in the field. The installers are the ones out in field on the front lines making 
sure all manufactured homes being installed in Ohio are done correctly, affordably and above all, safely. We 
need to know what are the most common problems you may run into or the most common concerns you may 
have. Please feel free to call our office or email us any questions, concerns or comments you have and we will 
be glad to address them and also would like to use them for future classes and education for all. Thank you for 
doing what you do to better our industry and provide a safe affordable housing option for the residents of Ohio.  

 

14 Day Notice to the County Auditor / Treasurer 
 
During a recent audit of the procedure of installers notifying 
the county auditor and treasurer of the home installation it was 
discovered that this process is not always being completed. 
This must be corrected immediately.  
 
Within 14 days of installing a home, the installer must notify 
the county auditor and treasurer by completing the form 
shown to the left and sending it to their respective offices. This 
form can be found on our website under the Forms link.  
 
We will continue to work closely with the auditors of the state 
to verify this procedure is being done.  
 
If you are installing a home in conjunction with a homeowner, 
be sure to clarify who is responsible for the notification to the 
county.  

The Seal Report  
 
The seal report is checked and validated monthly by our office. There have been occasions when an installer 
is listed as the installer for a permit when in fact they are not. There are various reasons this may happen 
ranging from a simple clerical error to someone applying for a permit under someone’s name or number. We 
strongly advised all installers to check the seal report on a routine basis and confirm that all permits listed  
under your name as the installer and true and accurate. If you find a discrepancy, please contact our office 
immediately.  
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The OMHC Seal Report  
 

The seal report is the one tool that the OMHC, installers, inspectors and the general public have to verify 
or confirm a permit has been properly obtained for the installaƟon of a home.  It is imperaƟve that the 
seal report reflect the current and correct informaƟon.  
Our office examines the seal report on a monthly basis and over the past few months we have noƟced 
several issues. Below are a few of those issues: 

 Permits not being entered onto the seal report in a Ɵmely manner. There has been instances were a 
permit was issued in August but it was not entered onto the seal report unƟl October. This is a very 
serious problem. Someone looking to verify if the permit was pulled may look in September and it 
would appear that no permit was pulled and the installaƟon was being performed illegally.  

 Permits are being finaled but again, the final date is not being placed on the seal report unƟl some-
Ɵmes months later.  

 Extensions are given for permits but it is being incorrectly entered on the seal report. 
 
The following is the proper procedure for seal reporƟng. This procedure needs to be followed every Ɵme 
and correctly and accurately. Our office will fix clerical errors on a rare occasion.  

 Once a permit has been issued, it must be entered onto the seal report within 24 hours.  

 When entering the informaƟon, use the legal name of the installer as it appears on their license. 

 If the installaƟon is in a manufactured home community, be sure to list the lot number of where the 
home is being installed. If you do not know it, please obtain that informaƟon. If once the home   
arrives and the home is moved to a different lot before installaƟon begins, noƟfy our office as soon 
as you discover the discrepancy so that we can correct the seal report.  

 When issuing an extension for a permit, you must enter the DATE OF ISSUANCE of the extension. 
NOT WHEN THE EXTENSION WILL EXPIRE. For example, if you issue an extension on September 15, 
2014 that is the date you enter onto the seal report.  

 Once a home has passed final inspecƟon and the seal is placed on the home, the date of that inspec-
Ɵon must be entered on the seal report by the last day of the month it was completed.  

What is a Temporary Occupancy Permit? 
 
There has been some confusion as to the definition of a Temporary Occupancy Permit as dis-
cussed in Chapter 4781 of the Ohio Revised Code. First and foremost, ALL installations of manu-
factured homes in Ohio must go through the full permit process and have passed all three inspec-
tions prior to occupancy, regardless of whether that occupancy is expected to only last 6 months 
or last 60 years.  
The purpose of the Temporary Occupancy Permit is to give the homeowner or installer the ability 
to be granted occupancy prior to the seal being placed on the home. The inspector is authorized 
to issue a temporary occupancy permit before the completion of the entire work needed for the 
installation to pass the final inspection provided that all life-safety portions of the installation have 
been completed and passed inspection. The temporary occupancy permit is valid for up to 180 
days with two additional extensions being authorized to be granted in order for the installation to 
be completed per the permit process.  
The inspection agency has the authority to revoke the temporary occupancy permit if the installa-
tion no longer meets the temporary occupancy permit requirements or the permit has expired.  
If an inspection agency issues a temporary occupancy permit, the date of that issuance MUST be 
documented on the seal report. Again, it is the date of issuance, not when the permit would ex-
pire.  
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 2015 Installer / Inspector Continuing Education Class Dates 
     February 25, 2015 

         May 27, 2015 

     October 28, 2015                 

            Call 614-799-2340 to schedule your class today! Class size is limited so sign up soon! 

 

 

     The next regularly scheduled board meeting for the Commission is  
    December 17, 2014 at 10am. The board meetings are held in our      
    Dublin office and our address is listed on the left. The meetings are  
    open to the public and all are invited to attend. If you are planning  
    on attending, please visit our website to verify the status of the  
    meeting or give our office a call.  
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